Concacaf announce new Champions League format – Leagues Cup expanded as well

By FPL360
Concacaf announce new Champions League format – Leagues Cup expanded as well


Club competitions revolutionized  

Concacaf has announced a new format for the Concacaf Champions League. The new competition format will kick off in the spring of 2024. The new competition format will feature 27 teams, with 22 teams entering in the first round and a further five entering at the round of 16 stage to join the 11 first-round winners. From 2023 onwards, three regional cup competitions will be played in the fall of each year and will qualify clubs into the Concacaf Champions League.

The 22 teams entering the first round will come from the following competitions: 

The following five teams qualify for the competition directly: 

  • 1 x MLS Cup winner
  • 1 x Leagues Cup winner
  • 1 x Liga MX winner
  • 1 x Central American Cup winner
  • 1 x Caribbean Cup winner

“This will elevate clubs and leagues from Concacaf and provide even more compelling regional rivalries,” Concacaf president Victor Montagliani said. “It will also provide more international relevance to our club competitions, and a very competitive pathway as clubs strive to qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup and succeed on the global stage.”

Martínez, Dike, Barco & Co. – The 25 most valuable MLS players

25 Ayo Akinola | $5.5 million | Toronto FC

&copy imago images

24 Cole Bassett | $5.5 million | Colorado Rapids

&copy imago images

23 Efraín Álvarez | $5.5 million | Los Angeles Galaxy

&copy imago images

22 Gustavo Bou | $6.6 million | New England Revolution

&copy Matt Stith/MLS

21 Jonathan Osorio | $6.6 million | Toronto FC

&copy imago images

20 Mark-Anthony Kaye | $6.6 million | Colorado Rapids

&copy Devin L’Amoreaux and Jared Martinez/MLS

19 Hany Mukhtar | $6.6 million | Nashville SC

&copy imago images

18 Marcelino Moreno | $6.6 million | Atlanta United

&copy Atlanta United

17 Santiago Sosa | $6.6 million | Atlanta United

&copy Concacaf

16 Brian Rodríguez | $6.6 million | Los Angeles FC

&copy imago images

15 Victor Wanyama | $7.15 million | Montreal Impact

&copy imago images

14 Rodolfo Pizarro | $7.7 million | Inter Miami CF

&copy Xavier Dussaq/MLS

13 Tajon Buchanan | $7.7 million | New England Revolution

&copy imago images

12 Carlos Vela | $8.8 million | Los Angeles FC

&copy imago images

11 Raúl Ruidíaz | $8.8 million | Seattle Sounders

&copy imago images

10 Yeferson Soteldo | $8.8 million | Toronto FC

&copy imago images

9 Talles Magno | $8.8 million | New York City FC

&copy imago images

8 Alan Pulido | $9.9 million | Sporting Kansas City

&copy Sporting Kansas City

7 Brenner | $9.9 million | FC Cincinnati

&copy imago images

6 Alejandro Pozuelo | $11 million | Toronto FC

&copy imago images

5 Lucas Zelarayán | $11 million | Columbus Crew

&copy imago images

4 Emanuel Reynoso | $11 million | Minnesota United

&copy imago images

3 Ezequiel Barco | $11 million | Atlanta United

&copy Katie Gillen/Atlanta United

2 Daryl Dike | $11 million | Orlando City FC

&copy imago images

1 Josef Martínez | $13.75 million | Atlanta United

&copy Atlanta United Photos

Leagues Cup will see month-long competition between MLS and Liga MX clubs

Central America and the Caribbean will both create a new regional competition that will see teams qualify for the Champions League. In North America, the Leagues Cup will be significantly expanded. All Major League Soccer and Liga MX teams will take part in the competition. The tournament will take place over the course of a month with league play stopped in both leagues.

 The winner, the runner-up, and the third-placed team will qualify for the Champions League. The Leagues Cup will also provide an additional pathway for Canadian MLS teams, which previously could only qualify via the Canadian Championship. Two Canadian Premier League teams will also directly qualify. 




Source link

Share This Article