Canadian Championship returns with new format – Whitecaps face Pacific in BC derby

By FPL360


Was canceled in 2020 

Canada’s highest domestic club competition the Canadian Championship returns in August after the 2020 competition was canceled due to COVID-19. The tournament includes the three Canadian Major League Soccer clubs, all eight Canadian Premier League teams, and the champions from League1 Ontario (L10) and Premiere Ligue de Soccer du Quebec (PLSQ). The winner qualifies for the Concacaf Champions League. 

“We are excited to see the return of the Canadian Championship in 2021 with an updated brand identity and the return of the 13-team format that makes the competition truly and uniquely Canadian,” said Canada Soccer president Dr. Nick Bontis in a club statement. “As we turn the corner on the COVID-19 pandemic, we look forward to returning to stadiums filled with fans cheering their clubs on in pursuit of a chance to play in the Concacaf Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup competitions.”

Davies, David, Larin & Co.: The most valuable CanMNT players

Kamal Miller – CF Montréal – €1 million

&copy imago images

Dayne St. Clair – Minnesota United – €1 million

&copy imago images

Junior Hoilett – Cardiff City – €1 million

&copy imago images

Russell Teibert – Vancouver Whitecaps – €1 million

&copy Major League Soccer

Maxime Crépeau – Vancouver Whitecaps – $1.5 million

&copy imago images

Liam Fraser – Toronto FC – €1.5 million

&copy imago images

Milan Borjan – Crvena zvezda – €2 million

&copy imago images

Scott Arfield – Rangers – €2 million

&copy imago images

Alistair Johnston – Nashville SC – €2.5 million

&copy imago images

Samuel Piette – Montreal Impact – €2.5 million

&copy imago images

Richie Laryea – Toronto FC – €3.5 million

&copy imago images

Stephen Eustáquio – Paços de Ferreira – €4 million

&copy imago images

Tajon Buchanan – New England Revolution – €4 million

&copy imago images

Lucas Cavallini – Vancouver Whitecaps – €4.5 million

&copy imago images

Ayo Akinola – Toronto FC – €5 million

&copy Matthew Stith and Jared Martinez/MLS

Jonathan Osorio – Toronto FC – €6 million

&copy imago images

Mark-Anthony Kaye – LAFC – €6 million

&copy Devin L’Amoreaux and Jared Martinez/MLS

Cyle Larin – Besiktas – €11 million

&copy imago images

Jonathan David – LOSC Lille – €35 million

&copy imago images

Alphonso Davies – Bayern Munich – €70 million

&copy imago images

The tournament will kick off on August 15 when FC Edmonton will host Alberta rivals Cavalry FC in the preliminary round. The preliminary round will also include MLS side Vancouver Whitecaps, who will face Pacific FC on Vancouver Island in the first-ever BC Derby between the two sides. 

Full schedule:

Preliminary Round (15-26 August 2021) 
Match 1: Sunday 15 Aug – FC Edmonton v Cavalry FC
Match 2: Thursday 26 Aug – Pacific FC v Vancouver Whitecaps FC
Match 3: Saturday 21 Aug – York United FC v Masters Futbol Academy
Match 4: Tuesday 17 Aug – HFX Wanderers v AS Blainville
Match 5: Saturday 21 Aug – Atlético Ottawa v Valour FC

Quarter-Final Round (14-22 September 2021) 

Match 6: Date TBD Toronto FC v Winner Match 3
Match 7: Date TBD Winner Match 1 v Winner Match 2
Match 8: Date TBD Forge FC v Winner Match 4
Match 9 Date TBD CF Montreal v Winner Match 5

Semi-Final Round (28-29 September 2021)
Match 10: Date TBD Winner Match 6 v Winner Match 7
Match 11: Date TBD Winner Match 8 v Winner Match 9

2021 Canadian Championship Final (19-27 October 2021)
Match 12: Date TBD Winner Match 10 v Winner Match 11




Source link

Share This Article