Manchester United star Bruno Fernandes firm favourite to win Premier League award

5 Min Read

Manchester United star Bruno Fernandes is already the clear favourite to be named PFA Player of the Year this season.

The Portuguese international has already won the Premier League Player of the Month award twice this season in back-to-back months across November and December.

Fernandes is the league’s second-highest scorer, level with the likes of Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Harry Kane and Heung-Min Son on 13 goals, while Mohamed Salah leads the way with 16.

Before the season, Fernandes was priced at 12/1 to be named the Premier League’s top performer but after another sensational campaign, his odds have been dramatically slashed with United sat second in the table.

Fernandes is now as low as 5/4 with some bookmakers to win the PFA gong, making him the clear and overwhelming favourite, after registering 22 goal contributions.

As a result, it makes the 26-year-old three times more likely to win the award than any other player, with Tottenham striker Kane second-favourite for the award.

Despite Kane’s leading role for Jose Mourinho’s side, he’s 10/1, alongside Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne.

Gary Lineker’s pick for the award, Jack Grealish, can also be backed at 10/1, though he is as short as 11/2 with some leading traders after the BBC host insisted he should be in the running on Match of the Day.

With Man City extending their lead at the top of the Premier League table, it’s little surprise to see Ilkay Gundogan (10/1) and Ruben Dias (12/1) enter the discussion, with little to separate the chasing pack behind Fernandes.

Despite being the Premier League’s current leading goalscorer, Mohamed Salah is 16/1, which is by in large down to Liverpool’s recent struggles, which have seen them drop out of the title race.

Manchester United face West Ham in the FA Cup, following a chaotic 3-3 draw with Everton.

United can seal a spot in the cup quarter-finals with victory over David Moyes’ side at Old Trafford, and they then travel to West Brom on Sunday.

MEN Sport will bring you all the build-up to and reaction from every United match. You can have it all delivered straight to your inbox by signing up to our daily newsletter. Just put your email address in the sign-up box at the top of this article, or simply follow this link. It’s free and only takes a few seconds.

PFA Player of the Year winner 2020/21

Bruno Fernandes – 5/4

Harry Kane – 10/1

Kevin De Bruyne – 10/1

Jack Grealish – 10/1

Ilkay Gundogan – 10/1

Ruben Dias – 12/1

Mo Salah – 16/1

Odds courtesy of Oddscheker and correct at the time of writing.

Source link

Share this Article
Leave a comment